Cell fate, plasticity and reprogramming

Introduction

Control of cell differentiation potential is essential to embryo development and homeostasis maintenance. Pluripotent embryonic cells can beget all somatic cell types, but this capacity is rapidly restricted during the formation of the three germ layers – endoderm, mesoderm and ectoderm – each giving rise to distinct cell lineages. Uniquely among vertebrates, a stem cell-like population arising in the embryo rostral part – called cranial neural crest cells – challenges this paradigm. Cranial neural crest cells not only give rise to ectoderm derivatives, such as neurons and glia, but also to cell types canonically associated with the mesoderm such as bone and cartilage of the face.

I demonstrated that during development, murine cranial neural crest cells naturally re-express pluripotency factors to reverse cell differentiation and return into a higher pluripotency state, resulting in the expansion of their differentiation potential. Furthermore, they maintain a high level of plasticity throughout development and rapidly reset their molecular positional identity to adapt to future locations in the embryo.

By combining state-of-the-art single-cell multi-omics screens, functional assays in vivo and in vitro and tissue repair studies, my laboratory seeks to uncover and comprehend gene regulatory networks and chromatin rearrangements regulating the reemergence of pluripotency programs and the underlying reprograming of cellular identity during development and regeneration. The interdisciplinary scope of experimental strategies will help understand how these fundamental processes are regulated and might result in novel strategies to stimulate endogenous regeneration and ameliorate craniofacial tissue repair.

Fundings

Job offers

Contact

Antoine Zalc

Bâtiment Faculté, 5ème étage
24 rue du Faubourg Saint-Jacques
75014 Paris, France

Contact by email

Destin, plasticité et reprogrammation cellulaire

Introduction

Le contrôle du potentiel de différenciation cellulaire est essentiel au développement de l'embryon et au maintien de l'homéostasie. Les cellules embryonnaires pluripotentes peuvent engendrer tous les types de cellules somatiques, mais cette capacité est rapidement limitée au cours de la formation des trois feuillets embryonnaires (l’endoderme, le mésoderme et l’ectoderme), chacun donnant naissance à des types cellulaires distincts. Spécifiquement chez les vertébrés, les cellules de crêtes neurales crâniales, une population de cellules souches apparaissant dans la partie rostrale de l'embryon, remettent en question ce paradigme. Ces cellules donnent naissance non seulement à des dérivés de l'ectoderme, comme les neurones, mais aussi à des types de cellules canoniquement associées au mésoderme, comme les os et cartilages de la face.

J'ai démontré qu'au cours du développement, les cellules des crêtes neurales crâniales murines réexpriment naturellement des facteurs de pluripotence pour inverser la différenciation cellulaire pour revenir à un état de pluripotence supérieur et accroître leur potentiel de différenciation. En outre, elles conservent un haut niveau de plasticité tout au long du développement et réinitialisent rapidement leur identité positionnelle moléculaire pour s'adapter aux leurs futurs emplacements au sein de l'embryon.

En combinant des cribles multi-omiques en cellules uniques, des essais fonctionnels in vivo et in vitro et des études de réparation tissulaire, mon laboratoire cherche à découvrir et à comprendre les régulations transcriptionnelles et les réarrangements chromatiniens qui régulent la réémergence des programmes de pluripotence et la reprogrammation de l'identité cellulaire pendant le développement et la régénération. L’interdisciplinarité des stratégies déployées aidera à comprendre comment ces processus fondamentaux sont régulés et pourrait aboutir à de nouvelles stratégies pour stimuler la régénération endogène et améliorer la réparation des tissus craniofaciaux.

Financements

Contact

Antoine Zalc

Bâtiment Faculté, 5ème étage
24 rue du Faubourg Saint-Jacques
75014 Paris, France

Contacter par mail